Places Traveled, attempt 2.

I consider myself a very lucky 27-year-old.  In my lifetime, I have been surrounded by good friends, good family and good fortune.

One of the questions that came up in Start Something That Matters really resonated with me.  If you didn’t have to worry about money, how would you spend your time?  Without hesitation I thought to myself, I would travel.  To anywhere and everywhere.  I want to see the hick towns in northern Texas.  I want to see the biggest brightest cities, the festivals, the monuments, the museums, and the sports games.  I want to have a conversation with the homeless wizard that sits on Venice beach in California.

I was speaking with my father one afternoon, and he told me that he had been to EVERY state in the U.S. except for Arkansas.  So when he planned his cross-country bicycle trip, he made sure to pass thru just to check it off the list.  He had one rule to this travel game, you must spend the night there in order for it to count.  So layovers, train stations, pit stops are all out of the game.

I printed out a map and I keep it handy to check off the places as I go along.  I’d like to remember one specific thing about each place, but as anyone that knows me can tell you, my memory never serves me right.

I found these really cool maps on a few sites.  They are scratch off maps!  Much like lottery tickets, you scratch off each location and the color underneath is in contrast the original map color.  I’ve included links below for purchasing in case you are interested.

http://www.uncommongoods.com/product/scratch-map

http://www.urbanoutfitters.com/urban/catalog/productdetail.jsp?id=19391663

This really beats my blank Word document with a list of places I’ve been, and a list of places I want to be at some point.

Going by my father’s rules of travel, I’ve been to 19 out of the 50 states.  Not too shabby.  (They are California, Washington, Oregon, Iowa, Tennessee, Ohio, New York, Pennsylvania, Massachusetts, New Jersey, Rhode Island, Delaware, Maryland, Connecticut, Arizona, Texas, Illinois, Florida and Virginia in case you were curious). Last year my college roommates and I went to Chicago to knock it off the list, great city, highly recommended (especially the Wiener Circle around 1:30am).  We’ve vowed to take these small trips here and there to places we’ve never been.

In Europe, I’ve seen Italy, Spain, England, and Belgium.  I just booked my trip to Dublin and Paris for this April!! 

Planned excursions:  Greece Summer of 2013 in the Colley/Rountos estate haha and perhaps a trip over to Brazil for the World Cup 2014.

With unlimited time off and unlimited funds, I’d be a well-traveled cookie.

Where would you go?

Don’t forget to follow my photography blog as I chronicle a year in my life:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/shueyface/

Today’s music comes from the new Black Keys album El Camino.  This is the new single off the album called Little Black Submarines.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0_JvY9xeVNM&noredirect=1

Enjoy!

xoxo

shu

One thought on “Places Traveled, attempt 2.

Leave a Reply

