Family, Toy Shops, Coffee and Insomnia

Hey everyone!  I realize it’s been five days since my last blog post, but it’s been a whirlwind week/weekend. 

I went to Catonsville, MD to visit my sister.  Right down the street is Ellicott City.  Such a cute, charming, little town.  My sister owns the Bean Hollow coffee shop right in the center of the town.   Below are a series of pictures from the town/shop/nephews etc.  I never realized how hard it is to take pictures of a 2-year-old and a 6-year-old.  Constantly in motion!  But I did realize that the Canon Rebel EOS is not the camera for me.  Very unimpressed with some of the shots, but picked the best of what I took!  Take a look:


This is my sister’s roaster/inside the Bean Hollow
McKinley’s face enjoying some peanut butter.
Took the boys to Mumble and Squeaks Toy shop.  Such an amazing place.  Very Harry Potter-esque including a crazy, toy-loving shop keeper.
Kid loves Thomas.
Literally the best version I could get of the three of us.
My sister as a 26 year old.  So cute!
Can’t get enough of this face.
Kodi trying to fix the Wii remote that was covered in yogurt and thus was not performing its best…
Love my sister’s house!  The overall feel of the house is cozy, warm and rustic.  I adore it.

Kid’s are seriously hilarious.  Though I don’t want any right now because I love sleep, they are so much fun to hang out with.  Kodiak told me that he doesn’t like to sleep in socks because his feet get really hot at night.  He said “Yea and when my feet get sweaty, I wake up and I’m not sure if its them, or if I peed the bed by mistake.”  Hilarious. 

McKinley is only 2 and seriously hard to understand.  You have to speak his language, and if you don’t, it’s a series of trial and error.  He has trouble with his K’s but no problem with YES, STOP, and MORE.  He told me that he had bad dreams about mama ghosts and baby ghosts.  I guess when you sleep for 10 hours at a time, you have room for some crazy dreams. 

Another highlight of the weekend was our car ride to Carrabba’s for dinner.  After we stopped at the toy shop, the boys asked me to put on some Carrie Underwood.  This is Kodiak’s most favorite music artist.  He has a picture of her hanging above his bed.  Leah asked him what other kinds of music he likes and his response was priceless.  “I like country, but when I’m in a bad mood, I like rock and roll with a smooth beat.”  Listening to them sing along to the Play On CD was soooo adorable.

They also had an interesting wake up routine.  Kodi came into our room at 5:30ish wearing this on his head:

I wish I could have taken a picture, but I was comatose.  He assured me that he tried to wait until “the 6’s” to come get us, but that McKinley was hungry.  He read him a book and tried to get him to go back to sleep for a little, but couldn’t.  Although I appreciate the effort, I was less than thrilled to be awake haha!  It was still pitch black outside!!

All in all, I hope my kids are as well-behaved as these two.  They listened, went to bed on time, shared with each other, and were just sweet boys.  I adore them both.

This morning, I got to thinking about the Snooze Button.  I very much have a love hate relationship with this feature.  Got me wondering who invented this button that causes me so much stress?  Is that extra 9 minutes really worth the trouble?  Do you set your alarm for 6:30 full well knowing, you have no plans to get out of bed before 7a?  Aduh, we are all guilty of that. 

Who to blame:  I DON’T KNOW!  The lack of information on the web about this snooze feature leads me to believe that no one wants to take credit for such a morning crusher. 

Moving on, I realized this weekend that anything that is a baby is pretty much automatically cute.  You may think, there are no such things as cute caterpillars?  Wrong.

Watched the Grammy’s last night, and loved it!  The musical performances this year were stellar.  My favorite was John Mayer/Norah Jones.  Looks as though my boy Johnny May is channeling his inner pirate with that goatee and those long locks, but as I’ve said before, he can do no wrong in my book.

Country music stars Lady Antebellum cleaned house last night.  I mean, I love myself a good country song, but isn’t that what the CMT awards are for?  Shocker of the night:  Esperanza Spalding as best new artist!  She was the one person in the category who I had not heard of.  Is JBiebs grammy worthy?  Probably not at this point.  But Mumford & Sons?!?!  Amazing new band!

So after that, today’s music comes from the best new artist Esperanza herself.  She is a jazz musician from Portland Oregon.  I guess as far as jazz musicians go, she’s very talented.  I just don’t dig the jazz vibe as much as the next “cat.”  But take a listen for yourself:

listening to Precious by Esperanza Spalding on @Grooveshark: http://tinysong.com/q3sr  #nowplaying #musicmonday

Enjoy,

xoxo shu

Leaving you with a childhood memory from now on courtesy of collegehumor.com 🙂

Leave a Reply

