Chi-town bound 5.13-10

Morning!

I almost forgot to doc my Taylor Hawkins experience from last Friday.
He is more commonly known as the drummer for the Foo Fighters. In his side project, he is both the drummer for the band, and the lead singer.
He was amazing to see. I’ve never seen a happier person in my life, and not just because him and Dave Groll have huge mouths. You could just tell he was ecstatic to be playing a small venue with his very talented band. It’s always refreshing to see a musician go from playing huge capacity venues to playing a tiny bar in a college town, and loving it all the same. If you ever get a chance to check him out live, I would suggest it!My college roomies and I have been picking a city we’ve never been to in the U.S. every year and taking a long weekend to check it out. This year, we’ve chosen Chicago, (last year was Seattle/Portland.) I’ve heard nothing but amazing things about this city, so naturally I’m excited to check it out!
I did a little research on the Chicago music scene and it seems to be a jazz/blues based town. Muddy Waters in particular was one of Chicago’s earliest artists that paved the way for the blues in Chi-town. Other Illinois native musicians include Miles Davis, (who can’t hear that name without thinking of Billy Madison, “if peeing your pants is cool, consider me Miles Davis,) Benny Goodman and Herbie Hancock.

If you’re not totally into the blues scene (like me,) you might take more interest in bigger rock Chicago bands like Styx, Fall Out Boy and ADUH, Chicago. Also other bands that come from the Chicago area are The Hush Sound and The Plain White T’s from Dupage County, The Academy is from Hoffman Estates.

For the risk of sounding like Wikipedia of Chicago, I will stop there and leave you with a song for today from Chicago native band The Hush Sound
http://listen.grooveshark.com/#/s/Wine+Red/wqdwx

Enjoy!

xoxo shu

Leave a Reply

